Madidi National Park and Natural Area for Integrated Management was created in 1995 through a Supreme Decree N° 24123. Madidi is an area of 1,895,750 hectares comprised of three management zones: the northeast and southeast zones have national park status, and the central zone is a Natural Area for Integrated Management (ANMI).

Madidi is one of the most important protected areas of Bolivia and the world because of its extraordinary biological richness expressed in a diversity of ecosystems and fauna and flora. It contains 12 major vegetation types including one of the best examples of pristine tropical lowland savannas and the wildest and most extensive montane forests of Bolivia. To date 193 vascular plant families and 8,244 species representing 60% of Bolivian flora have been identified in Madidi including 110 new records for the country and 93 endemic species. So far 1,466 species of vertebrates have been confirmed for the park, however that number is expected to grow to more than 2,000 species as studies intensify in the park.
Madidi is also home to 31 indigenous and campesino communities with a human population of 3,174 people. Four indigenous territories overlap with the park, completely in the case of the San José de Uchupiamonas Indigenous Territory and partially in the cases of the Tacana, Lecos Apolo and Lecos Larecaja Indigenous Territories.

Projects promoted in the region by Madidi National Park have made significant impacts. Madidi is one of Bolivia’s most important tourism locations and in 2013 a total of 8,074 tourists visited the park benefitting local communities and municipal governments. Natural resource management and sustainable harvest in Madidi’s area of influence also directly benefit local people within the framework of territorial management and specific cases such as spectacled caiman management, incense collection, wild chocolate groves and shade-grown coffee production.

Basic Data

Name: Madidi National Park and Natural Area for Integrated Management (PNANMI Madidi)
Creation: 21st September 1995.
Area: 1,895,750 ha (18,957.5 km2).
Location: Northwestern La Paz Department, Franz Tamayo and Iturralde Provinces.
Habitats: High Andean peat bogs, puna and paramo grasslands, montane dry forests, montane savannas, montane forests, Andean foothill forests, Amazonian forests and grasslands.
Vascular plants: 12,000 (60% of Bolivian flora, 3% of planets)
Vertebrados: >2,000 (66% of Bolivian vertebrates y 3.7% of planets)
Threatened species protected: Andean bear, jaguar, giant otter, marsh deer, maned wolf, black spider monkey, woolly monkey, Andean condor, harpy eagle, palkachupa cotinga, black caiman, South American river turtle.
Indigenous territories: Tacana, Uchupiamonas, Lecos Apolo and Lecos Larecaja.
Comunidades: 31 comunidades de familias de origen tacana, leco, quechua y aymara.