Sulawesi, Indonesia, July 14, 2017 -- From June 28 through July 13, the Conservation Leadership Programme (CLP) delivered an international training course for 21 early career leaders from 12 different countries. The course was held in Sulawesi, Indonesia and covered key topics that will help participants gain skills and influence in the conservation sector.

The course covered topics such as personal leadership development, project planning, communicating conservation for behavior change, and fundraising. Following the training, participants return to their home countries better equipped to deliver conservation projects to save, for example, the red-handed howler monkey in Brazil, dolphins in Georgia, and hornbills in Malaysia.

On July 13, CLP hosted a visit by WCS President and CEO Dr. Cristián Samper and WCS trustees Ward Woods and Walter Sedgwick. Other guests included Priscilla Woods, Jeanne Sedgwick, Lynn and Susan Orr.

The Conservation Leadership Programme is a partnership of three non-government organizations including the Wildlife Conservation Society, Fauna & Flora International (FFI), and BirdLife International. Drawing upon the expertise of conservation professionals from across the globe, CLP directs project funding and training to early career leaders from developing countries who are tackling priority conservation challenges. Over more than 30 years, CLP has provided important career stepping stones to over 2,600 individuals who now form an extensive global network of conservation practitioners.

WCS staff pictured here: Gloria Jovane, Matthew Linkie, Ken Kaseem, Tisna Nando, Yudi Herdiana, Irfan Yulianto, Rizky Fitriani, and Iwan Hunowu,Wulan Pusparini and Riza Aryani.

CLP staff and training participants pictured here: Stuart Paterson (FFI), Christina Imrich (WCS), Laura Owens (FFI), Charlotte Klinting (BirdLife), Abdulrahman Rashid Mubarak Al Hinai, Ahmed Abdallah Mohamed Mohamed, Alfonso Hernández Ríos, Andre Monnerat Lanna, Chaona Gertrude Phiri, Chengyi Liu, Hugo Cardoso de Moura Costa, Jerónimo Vázquez Ramírez, Maria Fernanda Pérez Alarcón, Micomyiza Gilbert, Nika Paposhvili, Niomi Pridina, Paromita Ray, Paula de Freitas Larocca, Pedro Henrique Cipresso Pereira, Ravinder Kaur Kirpal Singh, Renato Richard Hilário, Rodrigo Costa Araújo, Saurabh Dewan, Temur Shvelidze, Zoya Irshad Tyabji.

 Learn more about the Conservation Leadership Programme: