National Wildlife Crime Coordination Task Force (NWCCTF)

The National Wildlife Crime Coordination Task Force(NWCCTF) is an umbrella body with the overall command to combat wildlife crime in Uganda.

It was established with the facilitation of Wildlife Conservation Society, Uganda in 2018 and inaugurated by the government of Uganda on 11TH February 2020 as part of efforts to combat wildlife crime of both a local and international nature.

NWCCTF comprises thirteen (13) law enforcement agencies and each member institution brings to the table different technical and technological expertise and networks that are leveraged to efficiently and expeditiously tackle wildlife crime in Uganda.

Its goal is to promote cooperation and coordination among the member institutions through information sharing, conducting join operations and expediting prosecutions aimed at combating wildlife crime in Uganda.

The taskforce contributed to the development of the National Strategy for combating Poaching, Illegal Trade and Trafficking of Wildlife and Wildlife Products that still await ministerial approval.

NWCCTF was born out of the need to tackle Illegal wildlife trade that is increasingly becoming sophisticated especially now with free easy access to the internet, a major funder of insurgency and the fact that the trade is currently a multi-billion-dollar criminal industry whose annual proceeds to date are estimated at 36 trillion Uganda shilling, the biggest poaching driver among other factors.

The thirteen (13) law enforcement agencies that are members of the NWCCTF include:

- 1. Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife and Antiquities;
- 2. Uganda Wildlife Authority;
- 3. Uganda People's Defense Force,
- 4. Uganda Police Force (CID and INTERPOL);
- 5. <u>Financial Intelligence Authority</u>;
- 6. Uganda Revenue Authority (Customs Department);
- 7. Internal Security Organization;
- 8. External Security Organization;
- 9. <u>National Forestry Authority</u>;
- 10. National Environment Management Authority (Environmental Police),
- 11. Civil Aviation Authority,
- 12. Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
- 13. Directorate of Citizenship and immigration control.